Spam/Malware from @lanepl.org - warning

Sometimes the bad guys spoof email from an @lanepl.org email addresses and send phony messages trying to trick you into clicking a link that could do bad things. Here is a recent example received by one staff member (who rightly questioned Systems about it):

Dear user of the lanepl.org mailing service!

We are informing you that because of the security upgrade of the mailing service your mailbox (homebound@lanepl.org) settings were changed. In order to apply the new set of settings click on the following link:

hxxp://lanepl.org/owa/service_directory/settings.php?email=homebound@lanepl.org&from=lanepl.org&fromname=homebound

Best regards, lanepl.org Technical Support.

You will never receive a valid email like this from Systems. In this and many similiar instances, you can mouse-over the link without clicking on it, look in the lower-left corner of your browser, and see it disguises a different destination. For example:

hxxp://lanepl.org.ikuu8e.com

Please contact Systems if you are uncertain of the validity of any emails you receive like this, and do not click links in emails without understanding that they are clearly from Systems staff. We would almost always sign them as from Chip, Bill or Heidi. Even if they are signed, if you have the slightest suspicion they are odd, please contact Systems before proceeding, or simply mark them as SPAM. Thank you.